Wednesday, 29 April 2020

Subscribers/Followers

Hello my followers and subscribers


Please take note that I will be inactive on this account due to signing up to Wordpress with a blog there.

Two most important reasons being

1.  Easy to comment on posts.  As I have had on going trouble on here, some comments don't seem to come through when reliable people have told me they have commented.

2.  Authors are wanting to put my reviews on their blog page and find it difficult to do so.


I will be slowly transferring all my book reviews on here onto my wordpress blog page and then closing this one down.

Thank you for the support and follow on here and if you want to follow me on Wordpress, here is the link


https://paulinereidbookreviewer.wordpress.com/



Regards


Pauline

Sunday, 12 April 2020

Interview with author - A. Lawati







Pauline Reid's Ten Question Interview with author A. Lawati



Pauline - Today I would like to welcome to my blog page, Ali Lawati the author of Little Wave

A. Lawati - Hi Pauline. Thank you for having me on! I'm feeling so cheerful about being here today!!  I feel a mist of joy surrounding me. :)




Pauline - Ali, where did you draw inspiration for writing, Little Wave?

A. Lawati -  As a child growing up in Karachi - Pakistan, a port city. I loved visiting the beach. The bouncy waves seemed to have so much character and they really made me joyful. Then when I grew up I wanted to become a marine biologist. But that did not work out. Later, I used to feel sad when I read about how our oceans are full of pollution. So, on a family vacation to Orlando, we stayed by the beach, which inspired me to write this story.




Pauline - What is the concept of, Little Wave?

A. Lawati -  Golly, I just had a spray of inspiration for this question. The concept came about as a thought of making an important topic heard from a younger person's point of view. We have so many adult discussions that children never get to be a part of. So, I thought of, how about an important conversation from a younger persons perspective that adults can be a part of as well. If that makes any sense. :)




Pauline - Little Wave is aimed at children between the ages of 0 - 11.  Why did you want to write a book for this age group?

A. Lawati - This is such an awesome point you make Pauline. Well, let me try to answer this question. Hmm. I got it. Here it is:  My character's are a bit easygoing. They like to chill. Little Wave and his best friend Staffy like to play and simply have fun in a responsible way. I find children can teach us a lot about having fun and taking it easy. But a story, especially about the mighty blue sea wouldn't be a fun story without colorful illustrations. You know the saying, "A picture is worth a thousand words." So, if it's a picture book then it would be for this audience and fit into this genre. 
Without causing a ripple, I would like to add here that the illustrator Sanghamitra Dasgupta and I had the same wavelength.




Pauline - The characters in Little Wave, are they based on people you know?  If so, who?  Or were they entirely from your imagination?

A. Lawati - Oh. WOW! Wouldn't it be fun to know people like Little Wave, Staffy or Surfy. But to answer your readers, this is all my imagination and from my shoal of memories of all that time spent at the sea side playing with seashells and playing tag with the waves. But one grain of insight that I would like to share about this story is the power of family that I personally believe in strongly.




Pauline - Have you a favourite character from, Little Wave?  If so, who?  And why?

A. Lawati - I tend to adore all of my characters. I'm a bit bias in this regard. But yes, there is that one character that kind of stands out. In this case, it's Little Wave the main character in this story. Why, because I think he does a pretty amazing job at teambuilding.




Pauline - How long did it take to you to write Little Wave, starting from manuscript to being published?

A. Lawati - The entire journey was like a body of water. I started writing the story from a tiny idea (a concept), like a cutie little droplet. As I progressed,  the tiny idea grew into more ideas - (a team began to build), like rain drops falling from the sky. All these ideas began forming a premise, like a puddle of ideas. Then some characters began to hatch, like life begins to evolve where there is water. And, finally that puddle began to have it's own identity - and a story formed.




Pauline - Will, Little Wave become a series? Or are you leaving it as a standalone?

A. Lawati - I would love for it to become a series. There are so many waves - ways, Little Wave and his friends can inspire others. Afterall the message in this book is "you don't have to be big to be brave." There is something in the works. 




Pauline - I have read another book of yours called, The Greatest Race.  Have you any other books published?  And if so, what are their titles and what genre? And where can I buy them from? Have you any on other projects coming up that you can tell us about?

A. Lawati - Yes, The Greatest Race is my first children's novel. Little Wave is my latest. I do have a pocket book of my own quotes and lyrical poetry titled Quote Unquote by A. Lawati and my first middlegrade graphic novel HADI is expected for release by Christmas 2020. My books are available on Amazon, Indigo, Barnes and Noble and wherever books are sold. 




Pauline - Are you on Social Media?  If so, where can readers find you?

A. Lawati - Yes, I am quite active on twitter @lawatibooks and on Facebook as PeelAli.




Pauline - And last question, have you a website?  And if you do, what do you offer that's unique to your website?  And where can readers find you?

A. Lawati -  I have a publishers web page, and it offers puzzles and coloring pages: https://www.crimsoncloakpublishing.com/a-lawati.html

Tuesday, 7 April 2020

Book Review - The Mystery of Holly Lane by Enid Blyton




Book Review by Pauline Reid  ⭐ The Mystery Of Holly Lane by Enid Blyton

Genre - Childrens book - Childrens literature  - 8 years and over.

What This Book Is About
The Five Find Outers - Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip and Bets - are together again in the school holidays. Bored without a mystery, they decide to practise disguising themselves.    Who stole the money that the old man in Holly Lane had so carefully hidden in his cottage and where is it now? Why did his furniture disappear in the middle of the night? Fatty and the other Find-Outers have a long list of suspects, and a few clues, but this latest mystery just won't be solved! Mr Goon, the policeman, is hot on the scent too and he is sure that he has the answer when the others are still utterly confused. But who will solve the mystery first?

What I Thought Of This Book
I've read Enid Blyton books before, when I was a child, reading all The Famous Five and Secret Seven Series, but I picked this up due to not knowing about this particular series. I noticed the name, "Fatty", although not very PC these days, we do have to remember that this was written along time ago, before computers were born.  There is 15 books in this series.  This being Number 11.  Also I noticed the number being on the spine, which to my relief and a relief to other collectors of series, makes certain books easier to find.   At the beginning of the series Larry is 13, Fatty, Pip and Daisy are 12, while Bets is 8. Bets goes to day school, whereas all the others go to boarding school, which Bets really does not like because the others are friends at school and she only sees them at the holidays. I consider this more a boys book, because Fatty seems to be the main character.  Enid Blyton, uses wit and humour in her writing, which of course this age group can identify with.


Star Rating ⭐⭐⭐⭐ ⭐ 5 Stars

Recommendation
This would suit any adventurous young child over 8, (more boys) or any-one who is an Enid Blyton fan (like myself).

Thursday, 2 April 2020

Book Review - Little Wave by A. Lawati





Book Review by Pauline Reid 🌊 Little Wave by A. Lawati
.
Genre - childrens book - Juvenile Fiction (ages 0 - 11)
🌊
What This Book Is About
This book is about a little wave, who wants to be a big wave, so everyone could respect him.  The big waves kept talking about Rip Tide, who was strong and could take anything he wanted, so Little Wave called on him for some help.  On his little ride, Little Wave meet up with Mr Under Current, who was up to his usual tricks, but Little Wave managed to slip out of his slippery hands and made his way back to shore to meet his best friend, Stafy, the starfish. 🌊 Stafy and Little Wave meet, Surfy.  Surfy was sad because he was stuck.  Little Wave wanted to help Surfy. Stafy wanted to help Surfy, so their little adventure began.  Was it going to become a Big Adventure?  Was it going to become a Tsunami?
🌊
🌊
What I Thought Of This Book
I was contacted by the author via Twitter to read, Little Wave, in exchange for an honest review.  It isn't the first time I've read A. Lawati books, so I knew I would be in for a ride. 🌊 I was immediately drawn to the illustrations in this book, I loved them!!  😍   they were kept simple and straight forward for the age group the book was aiming at. 🌊 At the back of the book there are colouring in pages to use. 🌊 Overall this is a clear and simple book. 🌊
I read this at a time when I needed a break from my normal reading schedule due to so many distractions with the coronavirus pandemic and with having a husband at home, life has become more busier and noisier than usual.
🌊
🌊
Rating System
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 star fish (Stafy has bought along more friends to help)
🌊
🌊
Recommendation
For any child between the ages of 0 - 11 and for anyone who wants time out from their usual read.
.

Below is a book trailer


  



Also if you would like to know more about the author and his books, pop into this  link    https://www.crimsoncloakpublishing.com/a-lawati.html    and have a look

Tuesday, 31 March 2020

Book Review - Death On The Nile by Agatha Christie



Book Review by Pauline Reid  🕵🏼‍♀️ Death On The Nile by Agatha Christie
🕵🏼‍♀️
What This Book Is About
 A murder is committed on a cruise down the Nile on a river steamer.  Hercule Poirot as usual, is roped into the enquiries to investigate.  Is it a pop from the wine bottle?  or is it a pop from a gun?   A splash is heard, the mystery thickens, it thickens and spreads like the coronavirus with more than one death.  Then there was the case of the missing pearls ..... so who is saying their Hail Mary's, and saying their mercy prayers now?  AMEN
🕵🏼‍♀️
My Thoughts On This Book
I picked up Death On The Nile, while the whole world is going through the coronavirus, I myself, am in lockdown mode,  (March/April 2020) so I wanted to read something not too heavy, ok so there was more than one murder that takes place, but at least it's not a pandemic!! Or a plague.  Anyway, I thought a cosy mystery would be a good choice.  Also here is an author who created her masterpieces through washing the dishes!!   How about that?   So, yes, I totally enjoying Death On The Nile.  I really love the conversational dialogue in this one and Agatha Christie is so clever, she has put inspirational quotes very strategically placed in the "just so happens sentences"  ...  never noticed this before.  Well perhaps I did, but her books seem to be growing on me and it's a delight now, to pick these up as they occur.
🕵🏼‍♀️
Quote I enjoyed
"Once prick the bubble of their self-esteem and it is finished"
Why did I choose this one?  Well, our Prime Minister, Jacinda Ardern says, we must stay in our bubble.  If we don't we may run the risk of contacting coronavirus.
🕵🏼‍♀️
Star Rating ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 stars
🕵🏼‍♀️
I recommend this book to, anyone who likes cosy mystery murders and of course anyone who is an Agatha Christie fan, especially the ones who like Hercule Poirot.    AMEN.

Tuesday, 24 March 2020

Book Review - a little book of self care - Self Reiki - by Jasmin Harsono

Book Review by Pauline Reid  🙏   a little book of self care - Self Reiki  by Jasmin Harsono
.
Genre - Self Help 
🙏
What Is This Book About?
In this book, the author wanted to show the reader what Reiki is, share the wisdom, give us the history behind Reiki, and show us the system, but most of all to show how the lay person that they can help themselves and care for yourselves.  Our bodies are made up of 4 layers, physical, emotional, mental and spiritual.  The book is devided into two sections.  "Wellbeing" - which concentrates on self-Reiki practices and meditations and "Healing" where we are shown techniques on healing and meditation.  Jasmin says that Reiki is for everyone, ALL living things.  Jasmin explains what Reiki is, and where it originates from.  The characters of the Reiki symbols are nicely drawn with a clear diagram of what it means. There is also, New Moon intentions and Full moon intentions.  The instructions are very simple, and basic.  There are various meditations you can do, getting rid of negative habits, headaches, soothing back pain, flu, colds, post surgery, etc.  At the back of the book, there is a glossary, which you can refer to. There is a resource page that you can go through with the recommended reading that Jasmin advises on.  Finally there is an index as well if you want to look up certain details.
🙏
My Thoughts On This Book.
I have been following, Jasmin Harsono, through Instagram (Instagram handle, emeraldandtiger) for quite a long time now.  Why?  Because I was attuned to Reiki, approximately 13 years ago, and studied and completed,  Level 1.  I wanted to follow like minded people. 
Also, but quite coincidentally I picked this book up a couple of weeks before New Zealand announced lockdown to the covid-19 virus which was announced on 23 March 2020.  It has helped me tremendously to keep a balance and to stay well connected and to remain calmer than I normally do.
🙏
Rating System
⭐⭐⭐⭐ ⭐ 5 stars
🙏
Recommendation
I would recommend this to  anyone who is into self help, Reiki (as we should be helping each other) anyone who wants to remain positive in this very hard time that the world is going through, for anyone who believes in positive energy.  Although it is NOT a cure for ailments and health issues, it works alongside and only works if you believe in it.

Friday, 20 March 2020

Book Review - Esme's Gift by Elizabeth Foster

Book Review by Pauline Reid 🌊 Esme's Gift by Elizabeth Foster
🌊
What This Book Is About
This is a continuation of book 1 (Esme's Wish).  Esme's Gift is about a fifteen year old girl, Esme, who has found her mother and her mother is alive, but in a trance, her gift has been tampered with.  We are now in Pierpont where Esme has found out that she is about to start college along with other friends.  This is of another world where Esme's school mates all have a gift, which some have trouble controlling.  The task ahead is to master their skills using them to help Esme find the secret ingredient to help her mother.  Can she do this?  A few other surprises awaits as Esme's friends and herself, go on a journey they are unlikely to forget.
🌊
My Thoughts On This Book
Firstly I would like to sincerely thank Elizabeth Foster for giving me this book in exchange for a honest review.  
🌊
I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the book and find  illustrations that fascinated me, first of all there is the map of Esperance and then there is a brief outline of a school dairy, and a school guide. I love the feel of this book too, it felt like velvet and when I put it down on a slippery surface, it just stayed there, it grips.  I loved the dynamics in this book.  I loved Esme, a typical 15 year old teenager, sharp and speaks her mind and never misses a beat. In the real world, Esme has a father who is a bit of a drunken lout, and I loved the dynamics between the so called "family"  I also love Elizabeth's writing, it's so dreamy and very imaginative.  I've put my favourite quotes at the end of this book review, so you can look at them and ponder over in your own time.   Now, back to the fantasy world, I enjoyed being thrown into the teenage years again and I thought how lovely it would be to attend the school of Pierpont, where most of Esme's school friends were just developing their gifts, ok, so some of them had issues controlling them, but with control and patience the desired results would prove rewarding.
🌊
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 stars
🌊
I recommend this book to any Harry Potter fans, and anyone who love fantasy fiction.
🌊
Quotes
The busker was only half-there.
A disembodied leg, hip, arm, and shoulder protruded from the claret-coloured wall.  The arm held a violin, across which a bow moved gracefully.  The rest of the busker's body, however, was firmly stuck in the stucco.
🌊
Wearing a blazer over your everyday clothes does not constitute a uniform.  Remember, too, that while piercings, dyed hair, and tattoos are acceptable, unenclosed shoes are not, for safety reasons.
🌊
The alley's long walls were splashed with psychedelic street art: rainbow-tailed mermaids, paradisiacal forests, and an enormous blue-haired Zeus.
🌊
In a meditative state, slipping into the past is as easy as slipping into a dream.
🌊
Dip your hand into the water and don't think about what might go wrong.  Once your mind is a blank slate, urge the water to show you something.  If all goes well, the magic within you will wake.

Subscribers/Followers

Hello my followers and subscribers Please take note that I will be inactive on this account due to signing up to Wordpress with a blog th...