Tuesday, 31 March 2020

Book Review - Death On The Nile by Agatha Christie



Book Review by Pauline Reid  🕵🏼‍♀️ Death On The Nile by Agatha Christie
🕵🏼‍♀️
What This Book Is About
 A murder is committed on a cruise down the Nile on a river steamer.  Hercule Poirot as usual, is roped into the enquiries to investigate.  Is it a pop from the wine bottle?  or is it a pop from a gun?   A splash is heard, the mystery thickens, it thickens and spreads like the coronavirus with more than one death.  Then there was the case of the missing pearls ..... so who is saying their Hail Mary's, and saying their mercy prayers now?  AMEN
🕵🏼‍♀️
My Thoughts On This Book
I picked up Death On The Nile, while the whole world is going through the coronavirus, I myself, am in lockdown mode,  (March/April 2020) so I wanted to read something not too heavy, ok so there was more than one murder that takes place, but at least it's not a pandemic!! Or a plague.  Anyway, I thought a cosy mystery would be a good choice.  Also here is an author who created her masterpieces through washing the dishes!!   How about that?   So, yes, I totally enjoying Death On The Nile.  I really love the conversational dialogue in this one and Agatha Christie is so clever, she has put inspirational quotes very strategically placed in the "just so happens sentences"  ...  never noticed this before.  Well perhaps I did, but her books seem to be growing on me and it's a delight now, to pick these up as they occur.
🕵🏼‍♀️
Quote I enjoyed
"Once prick the bubble of their self-esteem and it is finished"
Why did I choose this one?  Well, our Prime Minister, Jacinda Ardern says, we must stay in our bubble.  If we don't we may run the risk of contacting coronavirus.
🕵🏼‍♀️
Star Rating ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 stars
🕵🏼‍♀️
I recommend this book to, anyone who likes cosy mystery murders and of course anyone who is an Agatha Christie fan, especially the ones who like Hercule Poirot.    AMEN.

Tuesday, 24 March 2020

Book Review - a little book of self care - Self Reiki - by Jasmin Harsono

Book Review by Pauline Reid  🙏   a little book of self care - Self Reiki  by Jasmin Harsono
.
Genre - Self Help 
🙏
What Is This Book About?
In this book, the author wanted to show the reader what Reiki is, share the wisdom, give us the history behind Reiki, and show us the system, but most of all to show how the lay person that they can help themselves and care for yourselves.  Our bodies are made up of 4 layers, physical, emotional, mental and spiritual.  The book is devided into two sections.  "Wellbeing" - which concentrates on self-Reiki practices and meditations and "Healing" where we are shown techniques on healing and meditation.  Jasmin says that Reiki is for everyone, ALL living things.  Jasmin explains what Reiki is, and where it originates from.  The characters of the Reiki symbols are nicely drawn with a clear diagram of what it means. There is also, New Moon intentions and Full moon intentions.  The instructions are very simple, and basic.  There are various meditations you can do, getting rid of negative habits, headaches, soothing back pain, flu, colds, post surgery, etc.  At the back of the book, there is a glossary, which you can refer to. There is a resource page that you can go through with the recommended reading that Jasmin advises on.  Finally there is an index as well if you want to look up certain details.
🙏
My Thoughts On This Book.
I have been following, Jasmin Harsono, through Instagram (Instagram handle, emeraldandtiger) for quite a long time now.  Why?  Because I was attuned to Reiki, approximately 13 years ago, and studied and completed,  Level 1.  I wanted to follow like minded people. 
Also, but quite coincidentally I picked this book up a couple of weeks before New Zealand announced lockdown to the covid-19 virus which was announced on 23 March 2020.  It has helped me tremendously to keep a balance and to stay well connected and to remain calmer than I normally do.
🙏
Rating System
⭐⭐⭐⭐ ⭐ 5 stars
🙏
Recommendation
I would recommend this to  anyone who is into self help, Reiki (as we should be helping each other) anyone who wants to remain positive in this very hard time that the world is going through, for anyone who believes in positive energy.  Although it is NOT a cure for ailments and health issues, it works alongside and only works if you believe in it.

Friday, 20 March 2020

Book Review - Esme's Gift by Elizabeth Foster

Book Review by Pauline Reid 🌊 Esme's Gift by Elizabeth Foster
🌊
What This Book Is About
This is a continuation of book 1 (Esme's Wish).  Esme's Gift is about a fifteen year old girl, Esme, who has found her mother and her mother is alive, but in a trance, her gift has been tampered with.  We are now in Pierpont where Esme has found out that she is about to start college along with other friends.  This is of another world where Esme's school mates all have a gift, which some have trouble controlling.  The task ahead is to master their skills using them to help Esme find the secret ingredient to help her mother.  Can she do this?  A few other surprises awaits as Esme's friends and herself, go on a journey they are unlikely to forget.
🌊
My Thoughts On This Book
Firstly I would like to sincerely thank Elizabeth Foster for giving me this book in exchange for a honest review.  
🌊
I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the book and find  illustrations that fascinated me, first of all there is the map of Esperance and then there is a brief outline of a school dairy, and a school guide. I love the feel of this book too, it felt like velvet and when I put it down on a slippery surface, it just stayed there, it grips.  I loved the dynamics in this book.  I loved Esme, a typical 15 year old teenager, sharp and speaks her mind and never misses a beat. In the real world, Esme has a father who is a bit of a drunken lout, and I loved the dynamics between the so called "family"  I also love Elizabeth's writing, it's so dreamy and very imaginative.  I've put my favourite quotes at the end of this book review, so you can look at them and ponder over in your own time.   Now, back to the fantasy world, I enjoyed being thrown into the teenage years again and I thought how lovely it would be to attend the school of Pierpont, where most of Esme's school friends were just developing their gifts, ok, so some of them had issues controlling them, but with control and patience the desired results would prove rewarding.
🌊
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 stars
🌊
I recommend this book to any Harry Potter fans, and anyone who love fantasy fiction.
🌊
Quotes
The busker was only half-there.
A disembodied leg, hip, arm, and shoulder protruded from the claret-coloured wall.  The arm held a violin, across which a bow moved gracefully.  The rest of the busker's body, however, was firmly stuck in the stucco.
🌊
Wearing a blazer over your everyday clothes does not constitute a uniform.  Remember, too, that while piercings, dyed hair, and tattoos are acceptable, unenclosed shoes are not, for safety reasons.
🌊
The alley's long walls were splashed with psychedelic street art: rainbow-tailed mermaids, paradisiacal forests, and an enormous blue-haired Zeus.
🌊
In a meditative state, slipping into the past is as easy as slipping into a dream.
🌊
Dip your hand into the water and don't think about what might go wrong.  Once your mind is a blank slate, urge the water to show you something.  If all goes well, the magic within you will wake.

Tuesday, 10 March 2020

Book Review - Outlander by Diana Gabaldon




Book Review by Pauline Reid  ❤ Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

What This Book Is About?
We start in Inverness, 1946.  It all started when Claire heard noises through some stones that looked like a mini stone henge, you know, haphazardly in a circle, stones, like standing upright rocks.   Claire couldn't make it out, she heard screaming, very life like, but how could this be?  Claire had seen and heard enough, but as she went looking for her bicycle, she was sprung upon and dragged into the woods.  
.
Basically thrown into 1743 ....."Who the bloody hell are you?" Claire demanded.  " I am, madam, Jonathan Randall"    .... this was a start of something, as they were ransacked again  and Claire was taken hostage with a gang of Scots, going somewhere, "they" not knowing who she is, but with her doctors skills and attending to one of their men who had a broken shoulder they kept her on as being useful to keep their man alive.  Arriving at Callum McKensies, Castle, Castle Leoch, Claire was under scrutiny with Callum, although not actually kept a prisoner, Callum saw to it that she is to be watched.  Her life now, living in the 1743, Claire now has to adapt to primitive circumstances like, making medicine from all sorts of different herbs, flowers instead of penicillin.  All the while trying to think of ways to quietly escape. How does she escape? Or does she? What traps lie ahead for this lady who had landed in the past.  Love was looming for Claire, but this was no normal love, this was explosive, passionate, gripped with fear, near death and teasting times ahead.



My thoughts On This Book
Firstly I would sincerely like to thank, Ellen Read for gifting me this book.  Holy pancakes with maple syrup, I just don't believe what I just read, Wow, what ride, what an adventure, at times, gruelling, at times sickening, at times the feelings of jubilation and at times, sit on the edge of the couch trying to read faster to see what's comming up, which by the way, I'm not a fan of, it doesn't do my blood pressure any good, and for me this is why I read, for the calm and peacefulness of it all, which I certainly didn't get in this book.
.
So as you can tell this book is certainly not for the faint hearted!!  There is alot of battles, blood, blood shed battles, children that get a nail though their ear for doing something wrong, soldiers with huge gaping gashes, whippings and beheadings. Near rappings and witch trials. Bones cracking, screams of pain, bones being knitted together without aesthetic, splintered bones out of the skin. Cracked metacarpal bones couldn't be mended, let alone tetanus injections. Sodomy of the cruelest nature thrust deep into the bowels of Jamie Fraser. .... Yeap, definately not a bedtime read.  I'm afraid I skipped a page or two every now and again with this book, as I found it quite gruesome and bloody and very graphic and I felt quite ill, to the point of almost vomiting. Again I urge you not to read this book just before bedtime as you will have some terrible nightmares.  However, I loved the wittiness in this book ... "gorblimey" which I haven't heard for years, brought back memories of my younger days.  Claire had been portrayed in this book quite a witty, but a strong female, adapting very quickly to her predicament and acting quickly, although I, at the time, thought when explaining to Cullum McKensie "where she came from"  I was quick to question, well what about your dress wear, Claire, even before Cullum mentioned it.  Jamie was just as bad and really I could bang those twos heads together, both stuborn as mules and at times I just had to stop and have a break just before another argument erupted as these two were unreal with their insults and beatings, whippings and stretch marks, I say ...let me come up for air please and let me breathe a little? I applaud  the authors skillfullness of world building, because how do we know what the world was like in the 1700s.  Thank goodness I wasn't born then, I'm not thrilled by the way the men treated their woman like they owned them, well they did in those days.   As for the authors writing, plausible and raw and no doubt writing it as real as possible, I found it a bit too much for me, thankfully, in it's own blessing these are huge books to read as I will only be reading one a year.  That's another thing too, although this is a long thought out book, I can confidently say that it could have easily been split into two books.
.
Now as for the movie, I'm not in the slightest bit interested, I got what I wanted from this book and I never, ever, want to go back and relive what I just read. Although I am reading the whole series, this will give me enough time to settle down and rekindle my soul before plunging back into a dark hole.
.
⭐⭐⭐ ⭐⭐  5 stars
.
Recommendation
This would be hugely helpful for research purposes for authors, but due to the huge book and the nature of the story, consider skim reading to find bits and pieces you are looking for, of course I recommend it also to all Historical Fiction fans (this is a good one) especially if you are interested in Scotland, also for anyone interested in battles (there is alot of those due to the era) for anyone who likes strong female characters, who love horses, who likes dangerous journeys of the unknown, who likes pain and torture in books and lastly but not least, who loves a romance tale full of bumps, scrapings, cheeky grins, torture and a bit of endearing love.

Monday, 24 February 2020

Currently Reading - Outlander - Diana Gabaldon





Currently Reading
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
.
I've just started reading this book yesterday and I have already found two quotes that I like, I thought this was a good one to accompany the photo.
.
Quote
 "Mrs Baird's candles were far more utilitarian - plain white household candles - but there were a lot of them, and three boxes of matches as well.  I was not inclined to be fussy over style at a time like this". 

Diana Gabaldon - Outlander.
.
.
Here is the blurb to Outlander, copy and pasted from Goodreads.

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord...1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Book Review - Death On The Nile by Agatha Christie

Book Review by Pauline Reid  🕵🏼‍♀️ Death On The Nile by Agatha Christie 🕵🏼‍♀️ What This Book Is About  A murder is committed on a c...